Bent Words

Bent Words

January 16, 2019

I'm writing while my 6-year-old reads a story to my 2-year-old, who is sitting in her crib eating Nutter Butters and strawberries for dinner. I think she might have also had the remainder of her pancakes from this morning as her hair is mostly sticking straight out to the side. The 2YO has never had interest in the crib before but for some reason is delighting in it now so I'm not going to question it.

I still feel great but this does not make me feel more confident. I'm just worried because maybe something's wrong with me feeling SO GOOD. I have been suffering bad headaches but I still stomp through the day with a smile and a light step. Now the headache is gone and my spirits are soaring.

I'm stoked to be pregnant. To share all this love with another tiny human. It's going to be crazy but it's going to be wonderful, too.

I've been sleeping pretty well until midnight or 2am and then I'm wide the hell awake for the duration of the morning. Instead of worrying about others, I'm worrying about me and that's new and pretty baller.

In two weeks I will have my first ultrasound! Crossing all the fingers and praying as hard as I can that this is a strong baby with a strong heartbeat.


Written at 6:09 p.m.