Bent Words

Bent Words

August 01, 2023

I know me without the chains
The locking doors
The sordid refrain

I know the songs my heart will sing
The dance
A single ballad brings

I know me without your wanton stare
Without the question
Without the glare

I could fly above the deadened grass
Rejoice with nothing
But a quiet evening passed

I know me without these chains
Were I free enough
To live, unrestrained

I know the bounce my step can take
The words I breathe
My mouth won’t make

But I can’t take you with me
If you’re not willing to raise me up
You are my enemy

I know me less and less, these days that strike a piece of me
And if I knew me better
I’d abdicate this “sanctuary”

To live a lie and fall on the sword of form
To pretend each day
Hasn’t the sharpest thorn

I know me without your weighted woe
I know me
If only you’d let me go

Written at 9:25 p.m.