Bent Words

Bent Words

March 06, 2006

If you would not be forgotten,
As soon as you are dead and rotten,
Either write things worth reading,
Or do things worth the writing.

-- B. Franklin

Not sure that I've been sticking to this standard lately, but the idea of it is still out there.

Somewhere.

And, although the ideas are falling into place, the world of writing remains a scary space (hi -- Miss Rhyme Freak, here).

Although I have not seen it yet, one of my articles is going to be published in a local magazine. There's even money involved. Not enough to purchase new shoelaces for my Skechers yet here I sit, beaming with pride.

Although I have not heard back from them yet, a race reporting job has been offered. It requires a half a tank of gas, two pit stops, four rocking CDs and twice as many cigarettes, but at least the idea is there. I'm waiting to hear an approval from 'The Board.'

Although I have not a single ounce of experience under my belt, my Feature Writing professor has proclaimed my work 'quite good.' I even received a piece of delicately wrapped, leftover Valentine candy as a prize for best News Story last week.

So, the ideas are certainly there but, unless you've a degree in nuclear science, ideas do not tend to pay the bills.

The rent still has to be paid. Despite any earnest claims to my landlord that "I still haven't quite got it all lined up yet," he's probably going to continue requesting payment. And regardless of his inattention to my 'lack of living room hot tub,' I think he's still going to charge me full pop.

I merely want to do what I love and love what I do -- no matter how much I starve or writhe in pain with the knowledge that I might not be the next award-winning author.

I have a plan.

A plan to crank up the academic situation to full-time and rely on loans to pave my way through living accomadations. I plan to set the world on fire (in a mostly good way) and make my mark in any way that I can. I plan to work hard and keep on going, despite the forces against me. I plan to write about all the things that I find passion in and to never limit myself to merely 'this' or 'that.'

I am planning to write things worth the reading.

I know I'm not there yet.

But the idea is there. And so is the passion.

Now if only I could win the damned lottery, I'd be SET.

Written at 10:51 p.m.