Bent Words

Bent Words

October 13, 2004

You can take a walk, take a walk with me
Today
Tomorrow
Another day
As you are, be prepared to have him always in our company

He'll not be lost, not tonight
He'll not be shunned or turned away
I'll be holding him up high
Begging him to stay

You can talk of many things, I'll hear of what is said
Minutes
Hours
Days on end
How it mingles all together while he dances in my head

I'll not lose him whether want
Free or servile coaxing swings
If he judges me to haunt
You too must fly upon his wings

You can meet my tender lips, yet I meet only his
Time
Truth
To obey
The opposition of my honesty is simply, strictly this

For he'll not be lost, not today
Not with force or hardened will
In his honor, let him languid fade
But I'll not be free until...

Written at 10:55 a.m.