Bent Words

Bent Words

October 15, 2004

And there you are with color uncompared
As though you were the first
Feel this stare
If it were not that way
What would we be?
Scream and pop

Like you were not the first
I have seen you before
As though you could not climb higher
Firm lit tune
Caught too soon
And we'll allow the flames licked higher

A million words would we sing
And he. I have something to tell
Higher, higher until at last they fall
If you were not the first
Fast you fall to slight the call
Break down before the fire

What was she?
What was she; tell me, what was she?
I grow impatient with your style
Feel too many empty miles
Combat the cold
Sunlit unreassuring tides

Not you, not a man
Has the power
And if ever my soul shall be devoured
It is just like making love alone
Never better than
All the hours you have told

Walk away, you have but where to go
Walking, striding, running, crawling
Might you be where you would walk away
But I'll feel mighty
Do you want that?
I'll not feel mighty now

What you want, I'll not give
No matter, not the same
You have powers in your mind
I've not the simliar, taking same
Higher, HIGHER, how you've sighed
Alas, my dear, it is not the same

And there you are, with answers all
None to wonder
Nothing, nothing all
Yet forgetting as all is still
Forgetting this highwire
Compared; though likeness small


Written at 12:19 a.m.