Bent Words

Bent Words

August 17, 2005

There was a brilliant sky above your eyes that I still cannot describe
And sometimes, when I look back, I can barely remember the taste
It's been so long that perhaps I should have forgotten by now
But here I am, blinded by the brilliant sky, that won't fade to gray

And, tell me, have you ever felt the same, since we've been lost?

There was a hint of animosity as they rolled their questions by
Hoping I would hold the answers held within your brilliant sky
And I'm so sorry that I ever frowned, there or then or now
But they had no right to bring you to the tip of my memory

Not upon the day that I decided I would finally let you go

There was a patch of reminiscence that I exhaled yesterday
Caught within your lasting breath as you embraced good bye
As I squirmed below the weight of your history captured still
But old friends die more easily than either of us would believe

And, tell me, would they ask of me even half as often?

There was a silence as you sailed unseen through the door
The barrier of clouds fogging over that perfectly brilliant sky
And I folded down to my knees, hoping you would understand
But I suppose that now you simply would not let me in that far

Though I still wish for that, just the same, nearly every day

There was a world turned upside down, below a brilliant sky
And sometimes, when I look back, I can barely remember why
It's been so hard that perhaps I should have given up by now
But here I am, as always, still wanting the very best for you

And, tell me, could I be wrong to keep all of you so much alive?

Written at 11:22 p.m.