Bent Words

Bent Words

March 07, 2005

And if today were one year before
I'd not be here with shoulders down
This sidewalk's cold and wanting more
Than I could find within this town

Turn the corner but you're not there
The door swings heavy in my hand
They all turn to watch and stare
As though in this world I command

And if the moment were never cast
Out to nowhere, simply floating by
I would make each moment last
Catch every breath within your eyes

Watch the smiles curve your lips
Trace my fingers on your neck
Hold your laughter once it dips
Looking forward and never back

And if today were merely months ago
An invitation left beside the door
I would follow in your flow
Wishing we could do this more

Race you home down every street
Blaring laughter as you pull behind
Life has never been so sweet
When true love is on your side

And if today were still that day
Bodies tangled in bright moon light
'No one's ever made me feel this way'
Keep me always in your deep blue sight

Or shall I simply drop you at the car
Letting go with nervous good byes
'It's been so long and gone too far'
How I'd leave you with such empty lies

And if today were one year before
I know I could not simply walk away
Knowing that I want you even more
Than I ever wanted yesterday...

Written at 11:11 p.m.