Bent Words

Bent Words

April 03, 2021

“Hey, Pal! How’s it going?” she asked.

“Oh lovely. Yourself?”

“Well, you know, I’m a little bit tired and a little bit hungover from yesterday. We watched the game at Belfast and then went to the Thirsty Duck for Tim’s retirement gathering.”

“Huh,” I replied. “I wish I would have known about that – I would have stopped down for sure.”

I was part of the virtual send off with Joel and I messaged Tim to stay awesome and never forget me.

“Oh, oops. I guess I didn’t know who all was invited or I would have told you about it.”

Right.

BS. But what’s the point in arguing? You have your new clan and you pretty soon you’ll drop off the face of the earth when you move to FLA. OR I will disappear off the face of the earth when you take over my work to monopolize Meredith. It’s mostly fine and although I do care, it’s not really worth the breath. I’ll just tuck into my little basement hole and wish all the Usual Suspects well as I rot inside the walls like the mice we’ve discovered entirely too early.

39 years dedicated to Quad and the plant manager for the majority of my tenure. The guy who never developed a Tiny Man complex, wished me well during all my pregnancies and then forgot all about me before he even stepped outside the door.

I’m not too memorable.

Even for my best friend!

That reminds me why I dropped friends in the first place…

“I’m not mad; I’m just frustrated that you had a meeting in the middle of all this testing. If I would have know that, I would have just done it for you.”

Well then why didn’t you?! I find out about the testing a week or two before it hits and I’m supposed to cancel the rest of my life to make this happen in the snap of your fingers? That’s not real life! That’s like testing a mechanic on quickly he can change the oil and a set of tires on a motorcycle. If you’re going to assume you have ALL the parts/liquids/accessories/tools needed and laid out ahead of time, fine, but factor in the possibility that this isn’t the ONLY motorcycle he’s working on and all the tools/supplies needed might not be available that second. What if something goes wrong? What if you have to run down the road because you’re out of oil filters?

I had a f*cking meeting that was planned out 11 weeks ago, yo! And so I am mad and frustrated. It’s not all about you, honey!

“So what are you doing this weekend?” she asked.

“Nothing.”

“Oh. Well, okay. Then have a good weekend I guess and let me know if you need help with anything.”

Save the platitudinous sentiments for someone else.

BUH BYEEEEEEE

Written at 1:59 p.m.