Bent Words

Bent Words

December 21, 2020

“Can you ask the girls to not run around wildly and scream on Christmas Eve?”

Uhhh, probably not? I don’t know. It’s fucking Christmas. You’ve seen them twice this YEAR so if it’s too much, we’ll do a drive by, exchange gifts and go. Thermos up the hot chocolate and don’t forget to add some Bailey’s because I think I’m going to need it. Did I mention we have a dog, too? Do you want me to see if she will kindly not nip, jump or bark?

I’ll explain that this is CHRISTMAS! We do not get excited! We do not hoot and holler! We shall whisper “thank you” and take our tea with milk, if you please. Pinkies up, voices down.

Why bother inviting us if you knew what it would entail? I can’t wrangle my family any more than I can a gaggle of fucking geese. If that makes me a bad mom… well, I have no way to contend that one.

I don’t like LOUD either. Unless it’s me, in a bar at 7pm with a burst of laughter that shocks all those seated and saturated. I don’t like anger unless it’s a fight on the field of a game you got a bit too complacent with. I don’t like running around… ever. In the face of all the things that should make men scatter, I slow down. Fire = every step was was calculated to get me out. OUT. I was dizzy with what it all meant as it slowly occurred to me what was happening.

But to bring it back to something a little less serious…

Ain’t nothing a little booze can’t help out with.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XxWjtWONuGc

Turn the quiet up, turn the noise down
Let this ol' world just spin around
I wanna feel it swing, wanna feel it sway
And put some feel good in my soul
Drink a little drink, smoke a little smoke

Wanna little more right and a little less left
Little more right now, a little less what's next
Act like tomorrow's ten years away
And just kick back and let the feelin' flow
Drink a little drink, smoke a little smoke, yeah

I set my sails for a new direction
But the wind got in my way
I changed my course but my definition of change
Just ain't the same

I'm gonna sit right here, stay away from there
I'm gon' make pretend I just don't care
I could get up, go get her back
Or maybe I'll just let her go
Drink a little drink, smoke a little smoke, yeah

Yeah, go get her back oh
Drink a little drink, smoke a little smoke
Drink a little drink, smoke a little smoke

I kick back, give the blues spin
Break out the wine, forget again
Dig down deep, find my stash
Light it up, take me back

I kick back, give the blues spin
Break out the wine, just forget again
Dig down deep, strike my stash
Light it up, memory crash

Oh no, I don't know, baby my take on life
Maybe break out that old rock and roll
Drink a little drink, smoke a little smoke
Gon' drink a little drink, smoke a little smoke yea

Uh huh.


Written at 7:19 p.m.