Bent Words

Bent Words

September 09, 2017

Some days are so hard.

I can't hear myself laughing like I did before. Not worrying when I was angry about swearing up a storm.

I don't bring it up as much as I used to so it must fading with each passing day. But every once in awhile I want to know that I used to feel that way.

Getting carried away by nothing, feeling the tingle over every little thing. A pause, a kiss, a song, a wish.

How the nights never seemed too late, the days never seemed too long. Never wondering over and over if this is where I belong.

How I marched forward without a care. Stereo turned up as though I were the only one there.

I remember crazy, I remember cool. I remember speeding down the road like a fucking fool.

But I don't recall a moment of this life tasting so stale. Waiting for my memory, my body, my mind to fail.

Some day I'll have a moment to write about what was. Some day I'll ride our old route just because.

The tears still need to be cried. The "what ifs" and the reasons I still need to find.

I still wonder if those two wheels are yours. You still catch my breath, just like before.

When we weren't allowed a moment to think it would end.

Who were we then?

The laughter louder than any old 2-stroke you've ridden. The love deeper than any secret you've had hidden.

The place I go when I still need to know.

I'm not the only one who remembers every little thing.


The scent that you left on my pillow
The sound of your heart beating with mine
The look in your eyes like a window
The taste of your kiss soaked in wine

Every little thing
I remember every little thing
The high, the hurt, the shine, the sting
Of every little thing

Guess you forgot what you told me
Because you left my heart on the floor
Baby, your ghost still haunts me
But I don't want to sleep with him no more

Every little thing
I remember every little thing
The high, the hurt, the shine, the sting
Of every little thing
I remember every little thing
The high, the hurt, the shine, the sting
Of every little thing

They say time is the only healer
God, I hope that isn't right
'Cause right now I'd die to not remember

Every little thing
I remember every little thing
The high, the hurt, the shine, the sting
Every little thing

I remember every little thing
I'm haunted by the memories of
Every little thing

The high, the hurt, the shine, the sting
Every little thing

Written at 7:55 p.m.