Bent Words

Bent Words

October 22, 2010

Day 4 of Quitting (day 2 of actually quitting)

Motorcycle shop. Parts counter. Morning. Just finished helping service to push out units, Boss Man just finished helping sales push out units. Only me and Boss Man in parts.

Me: Dude, did you smoke a cigarette recently?

Boss Man: No.

Pause

Me: Did you go outside to talk to Dale while he smoked?

Boss Man: No.

Half hour passes by. Ring up two sales. Receive one stupid box from UPS. Head back up to the counter. Boss Man gets close, attempting to intimidate me with his proximity. It doesn't work because I kinda like it (save for the part where he smells like an ashtray).

Me: Dude. When was the last time you had a cigarette?

Boss Man: Last night. Cory and I went out for a few and I had two at the bar.

Me: You must be wearing something today that you wore last night. That or you haven't showered.

Boss Man: Yeah, wore these jeans yesterday. I can't believe you can tell I was smoking twelve hours after the fact!

Me: I can.

Boss Man: So does that mean you didn't smoke yesterday or today?

Me: Yup.

High five, big grins, mock stadium cheer.

Boss Man: You must be getting your sense of smell back already.

Me: I am. And I hate it. Because I'm not getting overwhelmed with pleasing scents like freshly baked chocolate chip cookies, Bounce drier sheets or crisp and crunchy fall leaves.... No, no, NO. Now I know for certain I purchased the most ineffective cat litter known to man. Now I can pinpoint every customer who's had a smoke in the last 24 hours. Now I can totally tell you've been working out this morning and have merely attempted to cover up the residual scent of sweat with Axe, which also doesn't smell good.

Boss Man: *sigh*

He knows I hate that crap.

Boss Man stomps off toward the parts room.

Me: Where you going?

Boss Man: To put on some cologne so I don't have to listen to you bitch anymore.

Me: *grin*

Boss man comes back and gets super close again in an attempt to intimidate me with his proximity. He knows I go batty over cologne. But I lap it up and stare him directly in the eye. He smiles a smile you know he tried to hold back but couldn't.

Boss Man: I hate it when you do you that.

Me: I like it when you wear cologne.

Boss Man: I like it when you wear those jeans.

Me: See, now that's how you make a productive Laura outta me!

Boss Man: I see. You're motivated by sex.

Me: So are you. Well, that and ice cream.

Boss Man: True. I suppose that's why we work so well together.

Me: A little flirt never hurts.

And here's to me getting a little bit better every day.

WOO HOO!


Written at 8:00 p.m.