Bent Words

Bent Words

April 20, 2010

Last week kicked my ass.

I tweaked my shoulder while stretching Thursday morning and, by the end of the working day, I was virtually drained of all my super powers. I didn't complain though. I still pushed out service units in the morning and sales units at close. That's because I'm AMAZING.

In a stupid kind of way...

Service is backed up because it's ridiculously warm for April and because we lost a service tech last week. Ryan came in on Thursday and Friday just geeking out on some sort of high end stimulant. I heard him from the service window, babbling a blue streak for about two hours, and when I finally poked my head around the corner to see what was up, I found him jumping around like a circus monkey and sweating into the engine of a Harley.

"What the hell is going on, Ryan? You're chattering more than a thirteen-year-old girl on meth."

Apparently he crashed hard Friday night 'cause he was officially MIA by 10am the next day.

Fired.

Now it's just MO. Luckily he is also AMAZING.

We're still looking for a tech if anyone's interested...

------------------------------------------------

I hit up the Parts Coordination Team at Suzuki via e mail to inquire about a back ordered part. Normally they respond quickly (within an hour or so) and so I was a bit distraught to find it took them an entire day to reply to message.

That was nothing, however, compared to the response I got...

(verbatim)

"The part number you supplied us with is an invalid part number. I would recommend that you check, double check and then recheck the part number before inquiring again."

Entirely enraged, I 'double checked' the part number. It was correct. I tossed it into Suzuki Connect exactly as it appeared in my original e mail and the part number was, naturally, NOT invalid. It was, however, still listed as back ordered without an ETA.

My reply back to Suzuki was as follows:

(verbatim)

"The part number is correct. I would recommend that you check, double check and then recheck your attitude. Fag."

Still stewing in my rage, and feeling a bit overwhelmed at my ballsy reply, I immediately contacted my (new) district manager, Ron Klimcke, and told had what had transpired. I'm not positive but I think he giggled. I told him that I was sorry, for his sake, that I didn't take the high road but, seriously, I could be a way bigger pain in the ass if I wanted to. I could be calling them every day, enforcing my wrath with verbal scathing kindness. I could remind them that their company is failing miserably because of crap like this (no wonder all their reps jumped ship!) and complain with a consistent manner equaled to our frustration as a crappy dealership. I could be calling them out on not listing ETAs with their overwhelming accumulation of back ordered bullshit but, instead, I allow them their leisure to check on parts and take their word when they tell me plastic f'ing grips for a JR50 are no longer available due to the lead ban on children's motorcycles.

Ron told me that I had already won this fight but to let him know if another similar situation occurs.

And I will.

In the meantime, I received a most obliging e mail in response to my original inquiry:

(verbatim)

"Hi Laura! Upon further review of the part you mentioned, it appears that although it fits several models not listed in the lead ban, it is also now discontinued because of the aforementioned lead ban. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope you can find a suitable replacement until we can release this part for distribution. Sincerely, The Suzuki Parts Coordination Team."

Zing!

--------------------------------------------------------

I'm not sure how long it's been since you've been out this way.

And I don't know what you're riding these days.

But if that was you, honking as you rode by my place, disappearing out of sight before I had a chance to rush to the window...

Hi.

And I hope you're doing AMAZING.

=)

Written at 8:20 a.m.