Bent Words

Bent Words

May 13, 2009

I've started this note at least three times and have merely saved each one into my Drafts folder hoping to perfect the words before posting. I've realized, however, that the real imperfection surrounding this communication resides in the decision of delaying it. I'll push forward this time without the goal of perfection but with an armful of sincerity.

Thank you for making my Carroll experience an amazing one.

As a part-time student and full-time employee, ten years older than the majority of my peers, I often felt lost at Carroll. I didn't have the time to bond or make great friendships and perhaps I should not have allowed the age difference to get in the way of connecting with classmates but there was, somehow, always a gap. And then, of course, my inclination toward clumsiness did not help matters -- I suffered two dislocated shoulders, two surgeries and four busted teeth during my Carroll career. What a mess! But I'm still here and I somehow made it though the road was long, painful and full of a few thousand Diet Cokes (some with Capt. Morgan).

I felt closer to my professors than I ever did my fellow students. Rebecca Imes, Michael Kula, Dierdre Keenan, Bill Humphrys, Barbara King and Susan Nusser (insert professional titles where necessary) -- they all affected my life in a very profound way and I am grateful. They pushed me, took the time to speak to me though I never seemed to have the time to make sense, expected more from me and forever encouraged me. They smiled at me inside and outside of class, welcomed me into their worlds, and never treated me like an outsider.

Yesterday they cheered for me and as a result I could not erase the goofiest, proudest grin from my face.

Thank you for recognizing me, shaking my hand, hugging me, congratulating me and encourging me to return with such honest and open invitations. You truly made my day. I wish I could have remained after the ceremony to say it face to face (damned dinner reservations and a brother/sister-in-law with a tight schedule) but I suppose this will have to do.

The result may not have always been so completely obvious but I worked harder for this than I have for anything else in my life. I had to, ya'll were tough! And I loved every minute of it.

THANK YOU.

Laura Elaine Johnson

Written at 11:31 p.m.