Bent Words

Bent Words

July 18, 2008

Did I miss something?

Haven�t spoken to you for days and suddenly you spring on me a call. You tell me you�re heading out for Dead Fish Day, that all these people will be there, that you�re going to have a beer after working hard all week and then you quickly close it off by stating that you were �just checkin� in.�

Oh.

Was that an invite or merely an informative chat? Were you indirectly hoping I�d join you by dangling a fish fry in front of me or was it only a call to say hi and �looky here what I�m doing tonight�? I�m confused.

Did the sagacity of the moment just miss me or what?

Did I just not sound enthused enough? If that�s the case, I�m sorry � it was a long stupid day filled with horribly annoying stupid people who insisted upon imparting superfluous stupid things. I haven�t slept well for two nights running and I have to get up super stupid early for work tomorrow. So if I didn�t catch your drift, if I missed the boat you were getting on, if I somehow let the plane pass by unnoticed � I�m sorry. I really am. I suppose I�m just out of it.

But if you weren�t inviting me out in the first place, well, than I�m sorry for assuming as much (albeit a wee bit too late).

I�m just tired.

And cranky.

So I missed your meaning.

And I missed out on Dead Fish.

Stupid day.

Written at 9:34 p.m.