Bent Words

Bent Words

April 21, 2007

It must just be me, being unmissable
'Cause I see that I've been here before;
Waiting for your unrestrained words,
Or your gentle knock on the door

It must just be me, worrying the night
Without a safe place to hide;
Hoping that someday you'll see,
These things I can't keep inside

It must just be me, easily forgotten
'Cause you don't carry me in your eyes;
While all I've been doing is watching,
For the hope we once recognized

It must just be me, analytical me
With something left to feel;
Crazy enough to get swept away,
Just to think that this was real

It must just be me, being replaceable
'Cause you make it look so easy;
Reticent to a T,
While you hand me down to misery

It must just be me
After all these years
Despite what I say
After all these tears
It must just be me
'Cause that's all that I see
You just walkin' away


Written at 5:46 p.m.