Bent Words

Bent Words

August 24, 2006

"On this subject I do not wish to think, or speak, or write, with moderation. No! No! Tell a man whose house is on fire to give a moderate alarm; tell him to moderately rescue his wife from the hands of the ravisher; tell the mother to gradually extricate her babe from the fire into which it has fallen; but urge me not to use moderation in a cause like the present. I am in earnest; I will not equivocate; I will not retreat a single inch; and I will be heard."


-- Lloyd Garrison

It is my future, my heart, my hopes and my dreams -- it is my life. It is but a single moment in an eternity of humanity, but still it is mine. It is my life and I choose happiness. Happiness must be cultivated with care and with passion. It will not exist if you do not produce it. It will not land in your lap or flourish with neglect -- you must be its guide before it can guide you.

Uncertainty has only ever proven unproductive. Be certain with me or uncertain without me. I've seen it before and so I know...

Do not let go of good memories. Conversely, do no dwell on past pains -- you'll only find yourself stuck there.

Do not misinterpret my questions for worry. I worry about money, where I last saw my keys and the date for my next oil change -- when I ask a question, I deserve an answer. As do you.

Mistakes are imminent. Humans are fallible. You're not going to like everything. Choose what you can live with and what you cannot and then go from there. Do not remain in a state where unhappiness prevails. Also, do not choose to be unhappy before diving in or you've only predetermined your fate.

Be considerate. It sounds easy but it's not always. You must actively strive to be considerate. An ounce of consideration can produce fulfillment.

Communicate the pain, the anger, the joy, the boredom, the insanity, the wonder and the appreciation whenever you can. Words DO bridge gaps. Ideas create momentum and thoughts shared can be carried through generations.

If you want something, ask for it. How much is lost and how much is unknown otherwise.

And this is what I want...

Written at 9:55 p.m.