Bent Words

Bent Words

December 29, 2005

The best part about Christmas this year was spending my time with The Boy. For a guy who has never liked Christmas and even decided not to show up to his family's celebration last year, he sure made a lasting impression.

Our Christmas began in the beginning of December. He took my new car out to run some errands one Friday and then picked me up later that evening. We went out for a Fish Fry at a new location and, at the end of the meal, he could not contain his knowing grin. I poked and prodded to find out what in the world was making him react in this way but I could not figure it out. He refused to let me in on the sparkle in his eyes.

In the parking lot, I asked him again, but he only plodded forward toward the car. I noticed that the car next to mine was running and yet there was no one inside of the car. I told The Boy how odd this was and continued to peak inside the dark blue car next to my own. The Boy unlocked the passenger side door for me and that's when I realized that it was *my* car that was running; not the one next to us.

I looked over at The Boy and he merely looked down at the dash, smiling, as I processed the information.

He had Remote Start installed in my new Civic while he was out "running errands."

I could not contain the tears. How incredibly thoughtful he was to go to such lengths and have me completely clueless was beyond me. We laughed and hugged and I cried and squealed and we stood in the parking lot for another 15 minutes testing out the Remote Start. Cars passed by hoping we were leaving so that they might occupy our spot once we left, but we didn't leave.

We pissed off a couple in a mini van. They stopped behind us and stared; waiting for us to get the hell in the car and take off. We probably pissed them off even more with our endless giggling and long embraces. I didn't care.

Now I can walk to the end of my third floor hallway and start up my car without taking a single step outside. After ten minutes of fiddling around in my apartment, I can walk outside with a fully charged, warmed up car that has most of the snow cleared off of the windows. We can easily find the car in a sea of parked vehicles simply by pushing the Remote Start. When people pass my car after I've started it from 100 yards off, they glare at me with contempt; wishing they had such marvelous technology.

And I do take every opportunity available to gloat.

From the kitchen in my parentals home, tucked below a significant hill which leads to the driveway, I state that I had better warm up the car. Without taking a single step or donning a single piece of winter clothing, I turn my head toward the kitchen window and press a little button three times. The Civic begins to purr and I turn back to my Mother and Father who are shaking their heads with apparent jealousy. I'm sure that the smile spread across my face is priceless...

This was the first Christmas that I've spent with another person's family in many years. It felt awkward at first; being placed in a room with someone else's glowing Christmas tree and realizing that a few of those neatly wrapped boxes were designated for me. I rather wished there would be no exchange of gifts or expecting faces as I tore at the paper on my lap. I could not have been more surprised at the generosity which I experienced with The Boy's family.

His mother gave me a leather bound journal and a package of film for my ever snapping shudder. She picked out a pair of pajamas which I genuinely love and I could not get over how thoughtful all of this was. His family must like me!

The Boy had yet another gift for me despite the fact that he had already spent too much with the Remote Start. He had, triple wrapped, my favorite perfume which, mind you, is not cheap. TOO perfect.

What was even more perfect, what was even better than all of the gifts that money could buy, was the smile which persisted upon The Boy's face. Despite his apprehension toward the holidays, regardless of past disappointments and even beyond The Packer's pityful play, he remained merrier than the biggest proponent of Christmas time cheer.

Written at 10:22 a.m.