Bent Words

Bent Words

June 21, 2005

And wonders never cease...

With my hands tangled behind my back, I kept a vigil eye upon my twisting right foot as I informed The Boy that I had cleared a shelf for him in my hallway closet.

"Ya know, so you don't have to... um, keep all your toiletries in your back pack when you... ahhhh, stay the night," I stammered out with an arid tongue.

This was apparently 'cute,' the way I stuttered and squirmed, judging by the expression of amusement carried out upon his visage.

He smiled.

I smiled.

So now he has a place, amongst my linens and my heart, upon my kitchen table and my warm embrace, within my apartment and my life...

------------------------------------------------------------------

My mother pulled me aside in the kitchen as she began her usual preparations for a gourmet meal. The men were outside on the deck, basking in the warm sun, and I could just barely see their heads bobbing up and down in conversation. My mother eyed me with a smile.

"So, how is everything going?" she asked with a tone of pointed curiosity.

I replied that all was going very well with work and plans for school and riding and that the stupid cats were just --

"No, I mean, how is everything going with him?"

"Oh, well, you know... um, it's all really great. He's... ahhhhhh, super sweet and he makes me laugh and, well, you know..." I replied while stuffing the tips of my fingers into my mouth and nervously gnawing.

She smiled.

I smiled.

And thus she resumed her regular chores of chopping celery and peeling potatoes while I twisted a dish towel into a knot the size of my fist...

---------------------------------------------------------------------

I haven't introduced a boy to my extended family in over four years. Through all of the birthdays, graduations, anniversaries, weddings, funerals and miscellaneous get togethers, I have not had a partner at my side nor have I made mention of the idea. I believe that they know that I like boys, but I'm not sure if they are aware that I actually have an acquaintance with any. I'm sure that my parental units have hinted toward the notion, but considering the lack of pride in past conquests, I doubt the thought was ever dwelled upon.

So when we walked into the restaurant and headed to the private room upstairs for my Grandmother's 88th Birthday party, cocktails already in hand, I couldn't help but notice the look of surprise which flickered in the eyes of everyone on my father's side of the family.

Judging by their expressions, they weren't exactly questioning who he had come with. His long goatee gave him away and I noted the two or three family members eagerly searching for signs of angry, animalistic type tattoos adorning his arms or hints of glowing green studs piercing his brow. It wasn't until about the third cocktail that my family, with their pastel colored plaid shirts, brown Dockers shoes and curt hair cuts, began to calm down and take note of gentleness which circumference The Boy's soft brown eyes. It was then that the conversation flowed easily and The Boy's name was passed around, from mouth to mouth and ear to ear, with good spirits and high regard. He was, officially, the talk of the party.

Even the bartender called him out by name in order to cover the ice in the glass he held to his chest.

My cousin Hillary cornered me at the bar while The Boy and another cousin of mine remained at the table behind us. She took a glance over her shoulder and returned to my eyes with a smile.

"It's been awhile since you've had someone in your life, huh?" she boldly inquired as I quickly employed my hands with lighting a cigarette.

Although I could have stated that it has not been so very long and that I had an ongoing 'relationship' with someone whom she had never met before, in all the years that we have been gathering at this very spot for this very occasion, I held my tongue. I had no reason for pointing out such a fact when, indeed, it was more like I did not have much of a relationship before at all. I merely mimicked her previous glance, stole a peek over my shoulder at The Boy seated behind me and replied,

"Yes. It certainly has been awhile."

I smiled.

He smiled.


Written at 1:36 p.m.