Bent Words

Bent Words

April 18, 2005


Anybody know what time it is?

Sure, I normally have a watch wrapped around my wrist which purports such necessary information, but I was in such a hurry that morning that I completely forgot about it. That day began something like this...

I woke up to a cold, overcast sky - the kind which makes you want to pull the covers up closer to your chin and snuggle into a soft, pillowy goodness for another hour or four without a second thought. Eventually, I stumbled out of bed, tripped over my shoes that had mysteriously relocated themselves into my bedroom, and managed to bang my elbow on nearest inanimate, pointy object standing between me and the bathroom. After I was finally semi awake and ready to leave for class, I came to realize that I had been gypped on my newspaper (again) despite the fact that my neighbor somehow received his. I abated the temptation of taking his Journal Sentinel by innocently displaying a forceful middle finger toward his closed door and made my way toward Main Hall.

After my first class, with five minutes to spare until my next one, I had to run out to my car that was parked about fifteen miles away in a two hour parking zone, which I had already exceeded because 20 other students found out about my 'secret spot' and when I returned to the same building for my second class, I came to realize I had no conception of the time.

"Anybody know what time it is?" I asked, breathlessly, of the nearest gathering of collegians.

I almost dread asking that question these days, especially with the reality of finals coming up in only a week. It seems that the allocated 24 hours in a day isn't quite enough to meet the needs of a college student with a job, extracurricular activities, a family and, oh yeah, that precious hour or two of shut eye in-between. I've recently found myself in a similar bind, struggling with the trials of starting a new job, attending my love for writing, visiting family members on the weekends and making the grade when it comes to school.

For me, attending every class and acing every quiz is nearly impossible. Although I put forth my best, I always feel guilty when I falter. As though I were a delinquent with a missed class or a washout when the professor returns a quiz which only promotes a C grade. But what am I to do after working a ten hour day, spending three hours in the Computer Lab finishing a Graphics project and then feverishly attending to a pile of laundry that's three feet shy of ceiling before hitting the books?

Well, recently a professor handed out some of the following information (gratis), and, I must say, it's not bad!

Flash cards, baby. Either buy a pack or, better yet, cut up a bunch of scrap paper that has inconsequential data on it and as you read an assigned chapter, write out pertinent concepts with the definitions on the back. I highly suggest finding someone to help quiz you with your flash cards, too, or you'll not be as committed. Ask a relative, bug a friend or pay a stranger. It's worth it.

Skip the cable. So it's Monday night and a group of your friends are getting together, as they always do, to watch the latest episode of Fear Factor. Kindly decline the appetizing invitation of scrambling to scarf down your Mac and Cheese in-between bouts of Lizzy sipping on rat stew and study instead. I know, watching Laci Scott guzzle a glass of rotten worms doesn't even compare to Politics, but... Ew.

Re-work your snoozing schedule. A week before the dreaded death grip of an exam, progressively begin going to sleep earlier and earlier (say by half hour increments) and concomitantly getting up earlier before your first class of the morning. What's the point of that, you say? Well, studying just before an exam or an assigned chapter will help you to recall what you've read only an hour or two prior. This has worked for me considering that I sometimes work until 8:00 p.m. and have absolutely no cognitive abilities once 'pajama mode' hits.

Read the book. No, really.

Turn off the phone(s). It is impossible for me to NOT answer the phone when people call. Although my intentions are genuine, to simply say a quick hello to friend or relative, I somehow end up chatting for an hour or more. But, realistically, one night of not being in the loop won't kill you (hopefully) and you'll be amazed at how much more concentration can be given to the books. You could also leave a message on your answering machine that states that you are home but currently very busy and that whoever is calling should leave a message so you can call them back. Plus, it's just plain entertaining to change your answering machine message every other day.

Make a schedule. Set aside specific times for studying and for whatever else it is that you might do. One is more likely to accomplish specific tasks if they are written down and we all know that relying upon our memories isn't the safest card to play. On a side note, I would earnestly suggest leaving 'Beer Thirty' and 'Tequila Twister' off the list.

Hope that helps. Otherwise, I've just being going on about studying when I could have actually been studying myself. Regardless, I genuinely wish everyone the best of luck during their finals and hope you all have a great summer filled with sun (and Twister)!

Written at 10:31 p.m.