Bent Words

Bent Words

January 30, 2005

Saturday January 8th 2005

I was not able to raise my head until nearly 12:30 p.m. that day and, when I did, I rather wished I hadn't. My head throbbed, my stomach turned, my throat was pulsing with pinches of pain and everything ached, from head to toe. It was more than a hangover; I was beginning to get sick and today was the day that John and I were supposed to go sight seeing. We had thought of going to Greenwich Village, Soho, Little Italy and China Town,to name a few destinations, but somehow I could not convince myself to travel any further than his living room couch.

I groaned and coughed, wheezed and whined. Physically, I felt terrible but there was also a heavy burden cropping up inside me in regards to the fact that I was copping out on my first trip to New York. Each time I attempted to exert myself, I only felt the more ill at ease. Thus, languid I laid, allowing John's fine display of sympathy to poor over my aching body, while watching episodes of the highly revered Gillmore Girls until nearly 4:00 p.m..

It was not until this time that I began to feel a little better and John had hopped into the shower. Once he was ready, we headed back to my hotel in order that I might get myself together for another night out on the town. Despite the growing sickness that seemed to affect every inch of my being, I was eager to be the trooper and do my best to keep a positive attitude.

At my hotel, after I had showered, we called Gayla on my cell phone, hoping she might be able to accompany us out to dinner or for drinks afterward. Unfortunately, she was indisposed with prior plans and unable to join us. There were many tears shed. But at least I got John into my bed...

Course he was alone, but I still declare that legally in the 'realm' of bragging rights for those who don't know that. Okay, John, I'll stop picking on you...

Maybe.

Anyhow, we took a few moments to for John to check his e-mail and then we were off.

Times Square, baby. I have never been so overwhelmed by flashing lights, camera toting tourists and SUV sized steaming cups of coffee in my life. It was like being in a mini Vegas, but without the little 'Cha CHING!' sound effects. A Toys 'R' Us with a Ferris Wheel, 'barkers' on the sidewalks advertising various shows and theaters and restaurants of every flavor. On one corner alone, I counted seven tourists standing in the exact same position, taking pictures of the exact same thing. I made the mistake of turning to watch them. Their flashes all combined to erupt a burst of light not unlike the aliens landing in Close Encounters of the Third Kind.

John pointed to the street corner where he once worked as a barker long ago. We walked beneath a canopy with a set of lights which emitted so much heat that, in the winter, John and his co-workers would stand under their warming glow. We passed comedy clubs and fancy bars and I wanted, so desperately, to laugh at his jokes, but my throat hurt so badly that I only coughed violently instead. Perhaps a good bowl of soup would remedy this problem.

*** To be Continued...

Written at 11:19 p.m.