Bent Words

Bent Words

January 05, 2005

When I travel, I travel light. I haven't been to a highly impressive number of places, but venturing to Europe for eight days with only carry on luggage does provoke a sense of pride in me.

I learned the art of packing in this manor after my four day excursion to Florida over a year ago and during a trip with a girlfriend to Las Vegas. For Florida, I had packed a suitcase and one travel on bag that would make Hulk Hogan groan under the weight and, upon returning home, I had to carry this overwhelming excess up the three flights of stairs to my apartment. I think I fell about three times and managed to step on both of my cats.

When I went with Stephanie to Las Vegas for five days, she packed two suitcases and a travel on bag while I merely had one carry on. Prior to the trip, she had back surgery and therefore could not carry all of her bags so guess who was volunteered to tote around her four pairs of shoes along with her entire vanity? While I was working in Vegas, she must have been participating in a freaking fashion show...

Never again.

I bring only the shoes I'm walking in despite the fact that they are tennis shoes and I prefer to wear nicer boot type shoes when I go out. Four pairs of slacks, as opposed to bulky jeans, three shirts, two sweatshirts and the proportionate number of socks and knickers (thanks, Cowboy). Oh and normally I would not bring anything for 'sleep wear' but seeing as I'm spending the night at someone's house tonight, I felt it rather necessary as I do despise sleeping in my day clothes.

I also carry lotsa paper and a plethora of pens since I tend to lose them all before the trip's end. I do not have seperate bag chock full of makeup nor do I stuff such modern day conveniences as hair dryers or microwaves into my bags (besides, most hotels have these highly valuable items in each room). After being nearly strip searched for it on my trip to Florida, I relinquish my zippo for the trip (sniffle) and posess only plastic lighters.

Note: Remember, ladies and gentlemen, you can only have FIVE plastic lighters on your person and only TWO books of matches when traveling via air. You think that makes for a lot of hooey? Try this on - you cannot have a metal shoe horn. One can only imagine what could happen if a metal shoe horn got into the wrong hands...

I tend to pack an unusually large amount of asprin, tums and vitamin C. This will hopefully ensure a less harsh hang over after drinking all day, all night and into the wee morning hours... for my friends. I don't drink in the afternoon.

Unless there's a football game.

Or I'm at an afternoon party.

Or I'm no longer in my own zip code.

Yes, well, perhaps I shouldn't forget the Prozac this time, eh?

For this particular trip, I have packed an equally unusual number of CD's for my dearly deprived friend who won't like my music but since I have to bother all of the people that I know with my 'style' at one point or another, I have like seven CD's in my bag. I have a soft bristled toothbrush and a medium bristled toothbrush, just in case, and a handly little rain cape from my thoughtful father.

One piece of paper towel in case I begin to cry or have a major nose drool in the cold weather, my camera, my notepad and a smiling heart. I'm excited and I cannot help but babble. Thanks, all, for playing along and have great weekending!

P.S. Your snow is officially HERE, mi Texas Solanito...

Written at 4:37 p.m.