Bent Words

Bent Words

October 21, 2004

Against my will, opposed in truth
And in the early morning dark
Risen wonder, gone again
Estranged in terror's spark
Words of simple sorrowed death
Held unto each expelled breath

Like heaven pointed fingers mean
Sat up straight to meet the moon
Off the bridge and sinking deep
He'll be of no more worries soon
I saw him standing there so high
I saw it all, with blackened eyes

One more gun that sang salute
His hand upon his chest
He'll not be coming by no more
The trigger of the mind depressed
I heard the horror ringing clear
I heard it all, with reddned ears

All his life in arrears
The space he could not fill
Tallies tied the knotted noose
Churned of thought that now lies still
I felt I'd broken half the deck
I felt it wrapped around my neck

Against my will, opposed in truth
Withstanding dreams kept lost
Responsible for figures drowning
Against his will, at any cost
I keep him safe in shallow depth
Away from simple sorrowed death...


Written at 1:50 p.m.