Bent Words

Bent Words

September 30, 2004

I walked into an impressively crowded LuLu's bar on Tuesday night with enough cash and a ready smile. The walls around me seemed to shrink with the limited space filled of all these familiar faces. I had prepared my heart for the endless questions sure to follow regarding Shane's Leukemia, but I never fathomed the enormity of heightened passions directed toward the memory of he and I...

Pulled aside, I sat with open ears and fidgeting fingers, wondering of his intentions. What had Mark Wolbrink to say to me!?

All, all and all...

The space around me grew so small
As his words began their flowing fall

"Could I not", he inquired, see what I had always done?
The swirled weekends and races won

The memory of every moment spun

Simplistic support wrapped in absolute joy
With each event we were employed

The best of laughter, his biggest fan
"Can you see them, there's the van..."

"You were a part of everything you could be!
YOU, Dear Laura, spotted the granduer of our memories"

All, all and all

Pray the tears resist their fall
My passing part seemed so very small

"You two, you two cannot be lost,
Down your arms, warm the frost!

Keep him with you

Your best friend, his best fan
Raise your voice and take his hand!"

My feet melted into the floor with numbing pain
His forceful eyes, his voice repeating both our names

All, all and all

As I declared he would not take the call
As I provoked the final fall

As I bent with steadfast guilt
As he broke the feeble wall I built

"There will be time, there will come another day
Of anyone, I know, you can find a way!

I saw it etched, deep within your eyes
The love you hold, I realize!

But, above all; all, all and all
Never short yourself; stand up tall!

You were the one, ever there
I'll mark it upon your current stare!"

Failing legs and stiffened sides
All the emotion I could not hide

I bled within, his candid call
Stood beside my feeble wall
Feeling it all, all and all...

Written at 9:25 p.m.