Bent Words

Bent Words

September 22, 2004

Where am I now, to have fallen beyond my own tender reach?

Who are you to hear my voice, the myriad of questions I beseech?

Stretching over definitive borders, stepping through the transparent door

In a simplicity of human empathy, a brilliance I've not deemed before

Tranposing roles, take from me that of which I always play

Turn the years of ambiguity into caring hands and brighter days

Within one human soul, the grueling miles cannot hasten my defeat

The venerable words of wisdom, how they

can inspire weary feet

Allow my heart restraint! Give unaffected poise to my accepting grace

That I shall not instill a moments' worth of bitter taste!

Pardon these, my maudlin words, my verve and my attentions

And yet, forgoing praise would surely slight the value of your intentions

Let me revel in this change, let me, in this lifetime never fail to see

The great and obstinate virulence of an ever spreading complacency

I'll not beg of its formation, I'll not dare build that wall

I'll not be blinded by the stigma that proceeds this tempered fall

Remark upon this line of hope, captured far beyond the truest sense of me

Pattern my words with ignited innocense - fill this world of what I can be

And in this spec of time, I have fathomed a single slice of you

The sentiments of righteous clarity, the exactness of their truth

Outside myself, I crawl; fear relinquished to the desperate need

Surpassing undulating grief to caress the precious gift of me...

Written at 7:14 p.m.