Bent Words

Bent Words

August 28, 2004

Even better, the world I sew

And this is how his story goes...

Let go the time of too much beer

Complete, the 'gaities of Saturday night's cheer'

Resolve to keep drinking the more, the most

Give the keys to your host

What others have been locked inside

Inhabiting four hours of another ride

Wait and drink and drink some more

Until laughter ceases at the door

Do not call, do not be so inclined

Do not you dare, with your present company in mind

I can wait, as I have, through hours long

To know that you are safe and that you have done no wrong

They must not hear and they must not see

The evening you planned to spend with me

Keep me hidden and tucked away

Save me for the next rainy day

Waste no time in waiting for me

Lose yourself in drinking heavily

For, although I waited and although I passed

(When it was offered and I was asked)

I held out, everything, I held out all that I would do

Just for the patience of spending time with you

And, alas, do not bawk at all these words

Though perhaps extreme and a bit absurd

For I have promised to myself no longer to deny

Whatever I feel and whenever it grips my mind

It is past eleven and I should be in bed

Yet flustered thoughts keep me awake instead

But I feel better, letting my true feelings show

Letting my temper and dramatic fear flow

An overactive mind I surely may keep

I may go too far and I might dig too deep

Thus, the reason I write it all down

To put it somewhere, the thoughts that I crown

So here it ends, the story of tonight

I shall seek slumber knowing everything's alright...

Written at 10:31 p.m.