Bent Words

Bent Words

August 24, 2004

What of this day have I become?

What of his heart have I undone?

The role he promised I surely drew inside of ME

Yet this role reversal remains to him an unfolded mystery

Pardoned gifts

And unforgiven rifts

He cannot find me anymore

So what is it of this day that am I fighting for?

He helped me clear the breaking bridge

He held my hand upon the sweeping ridge

Yet I have not returned the price he's paid

And now I must suffer the moments as his light begins to fade

What of love and what of peace?

What of the selfishness I cannot cease?

He will not hear me now

The smile he believes I endow

I'll fall away

With nothing more to say

And wonder...

What of empathy and what of charm?

What of benevolent intentions that somehow produce harm?

What of these eyes that only I can see through?

What of integrity and what have you of truth?

What of tomorrow shall I become?

What does it matter with all the damage I've done...

Written at 11:57 p.m.